Maybe It Is Time To Start The Vitamin D

Working night shift, you lose something valuable. Time, yes. Normalcy in interacting with others, yes. Neither of those are what I am talking about. I am talking about Vitamin D.

You get Vitamin D from the sun. It is the sunshine vitamin. Working nights, you get limited sunlight, you are sleeping while the sun shines. You get up in time to come to work and you sit staring at darkness under fluorescent light or in a dark room for 12 hours.

When you do this five out of seven days it gets to you. I am on day four of five this rotation.

Here are some of the symptoms:

  • Reduced calcium absorption, resulting in bone pain, muscle weakness, and increased risk of osteoporosis
  • High blood pressure
  • Irritability due to vitamin D’s role in managing the brain’s serotonin levels
  • Reduced aerobic capacity and overall endurance
  • Depression
  • Higher risk of gestational diabetes and preeclampsia in pregnant women
  • Low birth weight in infants
  • Reduced effectiveness of insulin
  • Weakened immune response

The irritability and I wouldn’t say depression, just not seeing myself in  a good light, those are evident. When I get on my own nerves, I know I get on others nerves as well.

One of my co-workers and I were talking about it tonight. I told them that I felt so good on my vacation and here less than a week later, I want to run away and never look back.

I was outside everyday when I was on vacation. I was getting sunshine. I was honestly getting less sleep while I was off. So, it is not sleep that is the problem. So maybe it is time to supplement.

We’ll see how it works out. Maybe I won’t be as negative about things. I made a negative comment to my person today and then had to apologize. So, it is time to swallow a pill and feel better.

Leave a Reply

