For All The Night Shift Workers….

Working night shift messes with your brain. You never really know what day it is. If you don’t get enough sleep, you can get grouchy.

In my line of work, you have to be able to laugh not to cry. It is very mentally demanding work where you meet people at their low point.

Luckily, I have some great guys on my shift that make the night more fun. I watch them get down right nasty with their comments to each other but they let it bounce off them. Trust me, women would not do that. There would hair pulling and claws would come out. The guys  always poke fun and each other and when things get a little too ummm….nasty, a couple remind them that a “respectable lady” is in the room. Being the eldest of the crew, I will at time admonish them myself but usually one of the guys calms the chaos down.

This morning when I got home, after a very trying weekend, I sat down to pull my boots off and fell asleep in my chair.

While I was sleeping, after finally waking up long enough to face plant into my bed, everyone else was living their lives. When I woke up and wanted food. Everyone else had eaten. When I went to pay my electric bill, it was right at closing time. I was their last customer. When I went to the landfill, there was no one there but the boys who work there.

As I was folding my laundry, others were settling down to sleep. Now while everyone else is snuggled in their bed happily dreaming. I sit alone. I work on my projects. I watch the same DVD over and over again. It is just noise. The background soundtrack of my life to make me feel less alone.  I try not to let the things in my mind come to light, so I hold them in the darkness.

For the most part, I have become a night dweller. By the time I get my body used to sleeping at a normal time, it will be time for me to go back to work again on the night shift.

Leave a Reply

