Motivation Level Zero…

I am a person who likes certain things being on schedule, other things I am a  go with the flow kind of girl.

On Sundays when I am not working, I go to church. So every other Sunday I go to church. Yesterday, they were calling for slick roads so church was cancelled.

It threw me off my schedule. I am 48 years old. I was born on a Wednesday and I was in church on Sunday. It is a major part of my life. So missing church makes for a long Sunday.

According to my “weather mom” who gives me the daily weather update when she calls me, the snow was supposed to come in the afternoon. So, I laid on the couch and watched some classic comedies.

Afternoon came, the snow did not. I only wanted to do one thing. That didn’t work out. There were things I could have been doing, there were things I should have been doing. I could be working on some of my projects. I could be editing photos.  I should have been working on my taxes. I could have eaten. I laid on the couch.

I didn’t want to move from the couch. I am not one to lay around and just veg out. So, I wondered am I getting sick? Is something wrong with me? Why do I not want to get up? So I watched “The Ghost and Mr. Chicken”, ” The Incredible Mr. Limpet”The Shakiest Gun in the West”, It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World”…IMHO one of the funniest movies of all time. I just laid there and watched movies all afternoon. I didn’t speak (verbally) to anyone until late that evening. NOBODY!!! I never heard my own voice for 12 hours.

Of course working night shift, after the sun went down, I decided I wanted to get up off the couch. I went to working on some of my glass projects. I talked to a friend on the phone who called me. I ate food.

I just need to let everything rest if only for a day. Sunday is the traditional day of rest. Maybe in my own way, I was doing exactly what I needed to do. Today, I was much more productive and more adventurous with some of the glass I was fusing.

So maybe I need a day of zero motivation to rest my mind and my body.

Leave a Reply

