Mary and Me…

I have always loved Mary Cassatt paintings. I never really understood what the strong connection was. There is one though, believe me.

I even have a Mary Cassatt adult coloring book that I color in to relax.

I just liked the impressionist style she used, the rosy cheeked children, the vivid colors, the far away dreamy expressions on the faces of her subjects,  the attention to detail.

I decided to do some research. Mary and I have more in common than I ever knew.

When I started reading on her it was eerie how much we had in common. I mean eerie. I don’t get spooked easily but this one is on the verge of that.

I won’t go into to many details about what all we have in common but let’s just say I made a list. Five things I could pinpoint emphatically. A couple more were a little more of a connect the dot kind of thing but the connection was there when you got from point A to point B with a little zigzag.

One of the connections I saw is the fact that we are both childless. I think the mother and child paintings were filling that void in her life. She didn’t have children of her own so she painted them. I told stories to fill that void. We do what we have to do to leave our impression on the generations coming behind us.

I will tell you one thing we do not have in common; I can’t paint if I try. I play with paints for relaxation but to paint an actual work of art, ummm…no, I am however a photographer. So maybe, I can take some of her portrait painting tips and trick for posing people for portrait photography.

Leave a Reply

