That Voice On The Other End Of the Line…

I haven’t ever told you what I do for a living. I am the calm voice on the other end of the line when tragedy meets the lives of those in my community. I am that person you call when you need a policeman, a fire truck or an ambulance.

I am invisible most of the time. I am a voice, not a face.

When you are losing your mind I am there to get you help.

I am a people mover, I find out where the problem is and I get help there as fast as humanly possible.

I know how to talk to people who can’t contain their grief or fear simply because I have been where they have been. Not exactly because all our stories are different. I know what it feels when you have the rug pulled out from under you when you hear the words that “It is Cancer and we have to start treatment today”. I know what it is like to walk around a shopping center parking lot trying to digest those words. Making those phone calls screaming on the inside.  That the person you love has cancer. You lose you shit. I also remember the very words he said to me that day. “God has not brought us this far to leave us, now get hold of yourself and go get me something to eat, then we will go back to the hospital.”

I know what it is like to sit beside someone you love as they take that last breath and the next one doesn’t come. That panic that you feel in that moment because half your heart was just ripped out.

I know what it feels like to be alone, lonely and scared. Laying in the bed at night, just praying to die simply because you see no reason to go on.

I know what it feels like when someone strolls into your life and stays no matter how bad it gets from time to time and suddenly you find a reason to get up in the morning and that loving for a second time is perfectly wonderful.

I know what it is like when your mother is having a seizure and you call an ambulance and it feels like it is taking forever for it to get there.

I know what it is like for the same thing to happen a second time and the paramedics are there and they talk you through that oh so scary moment.

So, when I answer that call, I try to meet people where they are, for I, myself have been in so many different situations.

So when you are scared, lonely, lost, grief stricken, be patient with the person on the other end of the phone. If they have to ask you questions, try to listen and answer honestly, for they are trying to get you help.

Leave a Reply

