Small Steps…

I am a stress eater. I am a boredom eater. I am an eater.

In a job that is stressful or boring with not  a great deal of in between, I have to be careful.

In a job where I work on night shift for 12 hour shifts, I have to be very careful.

In a job where I sit for most of that 12 hours and sleep during daylight hours. I have to be uber careful.

I have to remain calm during the stressful times, I have to keep my hands busy during boring times. I have to spend a great deal of time outdoors when I am not working, getting fresh air, sunshine and exercise.

I read a quote that was credited to Confucius which said “The Man who moves a mountain begins with small stones.”

Well, around 2:30 am I eat my last meal of my shift. That gives me 4 hours to start digesting before I go to bed.

Now I had some baked spaghetti, some salad and a Little Debbie oatmeal cream pie (Large size).

Decisions. A moment on the lips means a lifetime on the hips.

Carbs, lots of carbs or veggies.

To most this would be a no brainer. To someone who likes their carbs and watching the TV show “Cake Boss”, it was tough.

I finally decided that it would be better for me if I ate the salad and drank another glass of water, which is what I did.

It was one of those small stones that will help me lose what seems to be a mountain of weight. One small stepping stone at a time.

Leave a Reply

