My World in the Palm of My Hand…

We all are attached to our mobile devices.

How many people will leave home without their cell phone? I am totally going to date myself here, but I remember the days when there wasn’t such an animal as a cell phone.

I remember when the bag phones came out. My late husband was a supervisor in the job in which I currently work, when we were dating and he had to have a bag phone in the Corsica he drove to make sure he could be in contact at all times.

So needless to say, I have see the evolution of the cell phone.

I am one of those dinosaurs that still talk on my cell phone…Oh My Word…using a phone to talk; who would have thunk it ? I am just one of those people, I want to hear your voice and I want to feel that connection.

Just today, I had to turn around at the shed below my house, why…..because I left my cell phone. This is my connection to the folks outside these walls for the next 12 hours.

Tonight, not being awake long enough today to get something to work on during my down time, I have been talking with others, listening to music, playing a game and looking through the photos on my phone. All 2,000 photos on my phone. I have needed to do this for a while to clear space. I am very selective about the photos I delete.

Why, you may ask, because images are the stories of our lives without using words.

As a photographer and having lived my own life story, I know how important photos are. They stop time. They capture those moments the can never be re-created. It is important to protect those images.

As I scrolled through the photos I saw images I have sneaked around and taken of my person because he doesn’t like to have his photo taken.

I saw pictures of my girls as they are growing and changing. They go from them just being themselves to now that they are older they pose. The hair has to be perfect and the cheesy grin has to be exact. Pictures of my great nephew the day he was born.

Pictures of my mom before she had her surgery and the change I see  in her since.

There are pictures of me and my person taken on a road trip by this dude we had only know for a few hours. It is one of my favorites (favorite enough it is my background)  I would like to have more photos of us together.

Pictures of the last Christmas lunch with my former co-workers and the fun times we had.

There are photos of clouds, butterflies, sunrises and sunsets and other things I see in the beauty of nature and there are photos of the jewelry I have made.

Then there are the selfies. Now, I know there are two camps on selfies. Here is how I see my selfies and I can only speak for me.

I am at the point in my life where I don’t see the person I used to see. Back in the day. you couldn’t have made me take a selfie. I didn’t like what I saw. Now, I like what I see. I am not talking about the outside.

What I see when I see a selfie is a woman who has grown from grief. Someone who was brave enough to make a change when her life was just an existence. Someone who loves her person so deeply that when she does take one of these photos she looks at this magic box in her hands thinking he might tell her she is beautiful. That she is his and he is proud to have her.

I see a woman who is not afraid to take risk where once she was a girl scared of her shadow.

I see a woman who has a heart for those she loves. She is  strong but tired; someone who is truly happy again. And honestly, when I think I look good, I want to capture that moment and the true smile. So if selfies serve a purpose in your life, go for it.

If you have tons of photos on your phone, I suggest you take a while and just scroll through them and relive those moments. It is a mobile scrap book that connects to the web.

What a great time to be alive, when you can carry your world in the palm of your hand.

Leave a Reply

