I Want to Cook…..Again…

I love to cook. In my former life, it was plain old home style cooking. That is what I knew and what the person I was cooking for enjoyed.

I liked the fact that I was able to cook the things that he enjoyed. It wasn’t really adventurous. I guess most of that part of my life wasn’t. It was comfortable. I was calm. I was loved and I gave love in return, sometimes through food.

I have not cooked for anyone in 5 years, not an entire meal. I made the attempt once and well, it didn’t work out so well.

I don’t cook because it hasn’t seemed worth while to me to just cook for just me. I’m not quite as “homey” as I once was. I did the home maker and having a job for 18 1/2 years. I kept the house spotless. Yet in the long run it honestly didn’t matter.

I mean when I was doing it for someone else, there was pleasure in it. Now, it seems to be one of those mundane activities.

This being said though, I do from time to time make myself a nice meal. I haven’t done it in a good while.

But, I have in the past few weeks been to fresh food stores and to small shops where you can taste flavor infused olive oil and vinaigrette, and talking to my person about the creative and soulful experience that cooking can be, I want to cook again.

Not the same old stuff that I can cook blindfolded but I want to try new things.  Don’t get me wrong, I can cook home style as good as anyone else. I however want a culinary adventure with out leaving home. I want to control more of what goes into my body, not just eating  the same unhealthy things.

It will be a new adventure. It will be fun and it will be educational.

I know there will be some epic failures as with anything new I try but it will be fun.

Leave a Reply

