What You Can Learn, Even When You Are Not Trying…

So this is blog post two for the night. It has been a down evening, thus far.

So what do you do when you need something to do but you have finished all the projects you brought with you??

I watch TED talks at www.TED.com

Not sure if you are familiar with these. I had never heard of them until my person told me about them a couple years ago.

They are talks on varied subjects. Last night just randomly clicked on a talk. Before I had finished, I had listened to three women talk about their creative process.

They went into depth about how they create, why they create and one in particular caught my attention.

I will not try to transcribe her words. She has already spoken them with such truth and honesty that I could never do justice to what she has already done.

Here is the link to watch her talk….http://www.ted.com/talks/lidia_yuknavitch_the_beauty_of_being_a_misfit

This was the first one I watched last night. What struck me was her fear when she was faced with her dreams. She didn’t know what to do. It took her over a decade to pursue what was meant for her yet feeling like a misfit, she felt unworthy to be where she was.

Her story is one of rebuilding herself many times over. I can relate to her in a very deep way.

Even watching it the second time in two nights, tears run down my face. I understand where she is coming from to some degree. I have not had the pain and loss she has but her story is just that, her story. My story is my story just as your story belongs to you.

There is no shame in telling your story. There is actually a freedom in it. She stood on a stage, I sit behind a keyboard. In the end aren’t we all telling our story?

Aren’t we looking to share that common bond, whether it be family issues, body issues, our hopes, our dreams, our fears, our losses; those things which connects us not as a nationality or a gender but connects us as spirits living in a human form for an amount of time allotted to us.

We all want to feel understood and accepted even if we feel like we are misfits. Even though at times we feel so very judged or misunderstood. We just all want to be loved for who we are. Fat, thin, shy, outgoing, athletic or artistic, confident or doubtful, we just want to be who we are. We want to be loved and accepted.

I am grateful to Lidia for sharing her story.

Leave a Reply

