Rambling Thoughts on “Genius”

Today, I have been bombarded with images and thoughts of Prince.

He body was found today at his home. “Prince found dead in home” is what I heard one announcer say.

As a teen of the 1980s, I am no stranger to Prince. Little Red Corvette, Raspberry Beret, Diamond and Pearls, The Purple Rain Soundtrack. I still own that one on cassette.

People used to talk about how reclusive and mysterious he was. Because he chose to have separate private and public lives, he was sometimes ridiculed.

I think that is where he spent his time getting his inspiration. I feel like those still waters were very deep.His home was his safe place. I totally get that, what I do in my home is my business.  I know for me personally, I need some time alone, not too much, or time with those who feed my spirit to recharge my creative battery.

We all have a work flow of some sort, mine may not make sense to you, yours may not make sense to me but what works for us, works.

Yes, Prince was a musical genius. Yet he took time to encourage others. His female drummer Shelia E had her own career. His former band mate Morris Day provides millions of teens across the United States something to dance to at proms.

While Prince was building his own career, he was pushing others forward as well. What they did with it was up to them.

Long before Bruno Mars song “Gorilla” hits the top of the charts, “When Doves Cry” resided there.

“Dig if you will the picture of you and I engaged in a kiss,
The sweat of your body covers me,
Can you my darling can you picture this,

Touch if you will my stomach feel how it trembles inside
You’ve got the butterflies all tied up
Don’t make me chase you even doves have pride”

These lyrics written and performed so long ago, even to this day when that guitar rift and the drum beat in the background starts the song the hair stand up on my arms. When the lyrics begin, you see the image in your head of two people so entwined in each other it is hard to know where one ends and the other begins.

This is a true artist, a musical genius, a storyteller who had a soundtrack backing his story.

Sadly, we as humans fail to see genius until it is torn away from us. Now no one will talk about his need for seclusion to provide the music that is the hallmark for a generation, NOW they will talk about his genius.

Leave a Reply

