Eeny, meeny, minie, moe….

Do you remember a time when life’s most harrowing problems were solved with a game of eeny, meeny, minie, moe or rock, paper, scissors or flipping a coin???

Don’t I wish that life was that simple again!!!

When you played a game of Red Rover and you main goal was to rescue your best friend from the opposing team? You played mother may I and someone told you every move to make? Take 3 giant step. Mother May I?? The scissor cuts were the worst.

A friendly game of stop light where you ran like mad up until two then you kind of inched along hoping they didn’t yell red light and turn around before you got your foot planted. Because the goal was to send you back to start.

Well, in adult life, those games don’t work. Rock, paper, scissors is replaced with sleepless nights. Eeny, meeny, minie, moe is replace with lists of pros and cons.

No one is standing in front of you saying Take 3 Baby Steps toward your dream. Mother May I?

In case you can’t tell, I have a decision to make. I have already made one and as much as it saddens me, I must protect myself.

I am not generally a do what’s best for me kind of girl, I will take as long as I can take but when you are banging your head against a wall repeatedly just to see if it is going to hurt, it will every time.

So my dilemma is which way do I run?? Do I run to the safe thing or do I go for the long shot and see if the adventure leads even further.

I know a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush. I get it. There is also a great deal to be said for adventure.

You have heard the old joke about the man who was drowning and he refused to get on the raft, the boat or the helicopter and when he drowned and got to Heaven he asked God why he let him drown and God said I sent you a raft, a boat and a helicopter.

Well, what do you do when the raft and the boat arrive at the same time?

Do you take the safe route (which I have always done) or do you go for the adventure (which is what I would like to do)???

How will these choices change the dynamic of my life?  It will impact it in some way. Change always does.

Decisions are hard. They are even harder when the what ifs are screaming at you.  Four people in my circle who know the situation agree that it is a must to do this. Their desire is to see me happy and healthy. I told my mom, you can’t be healthy if you are not happy. I honestly believe that.

Maybe I will just flip a coin and sleep on it….I wish!!!

Leave a Reply

