What Do You Say To That???

I work at a local restaurant as my part time job.

Today was an interesting day to say the least. I was waitressing and I was in the dining room by myself for three hours until the evening person arrived then we would share duties.

A lady I know and her mother came in to eat. I waited on them just like I would anyone else. I know that her husband passed away last year. As I went by to ask the if they needed anything else, the lady looked and me and said,
“I just want to tell you how impressed I am how you have managed to pick up your life and go on since your husband passed away. I just can’t seem to do it.” Her mother readily agreed that she was in the same place. That she couldn’t move forward with her life either.

What do you say to that?? My only response was it hasn’t been easy. It took time and some good people in my life. She told me that she had good friends but it just wasn’t the same as having someone  at home. I totally get that too.

It hasn’t been easy but I have survived for four years and a couple months.

Then I waited on a couple from New York City. I waited on them just like I would anyone else. I didn’t know who they were, I didn’t treat them any differently than I did anyone else.

I always try to be pleasant, I may not always pull it off but I try.

As they were getting ready to leave, they told me that they were in “the business” and that you didn’t see service like that every where. The food was good and the service was good. They were very generous and when they left, they both hugged me and told me they would be back in the area in September and they would be back.

What do you say to that??? I just cried.

It has been a day that I don’t really know how to handle and for a change it is a good feeling.

Leave a Reply

