The First Person You Want to Know

I entered a regional photography contest. I wasn’t going to but people kept encouraging me to so I did. I struggle with doing things like that because you feel like you are setting yourself up for failure. I was going up against 196 other photos. I had one entry. The other photographers had multiple entries. I knew I didn’t stand a chance.

There was a reception this evening to announce the winners. I told people I was not going. There was no point. So people embellished the truth, telling me I was needed to complete a task at the event so I went. Little did I know that I would win an honorable mention. I think there were 7 awarded in the adult/color competition.

It is in those moments that you are happy about something or you need someone to lean on for a minute you know who is holding your heart. That is the first person you want to share your news with. Doesn’t matter if it is glad tidings or bad news, that is the person you wish was there with you in that moment.

So, I grabbed my handy dandy cell phone, snapped a pic of my photo with the ribbon on it and sent a message. It wasn’t the same as having him there with me but it was the best I could do at the moment. I waited until he responded to the message before letting anyone else know. I wanted him to be the first.

We all have that person we want to be the first one to share our news. Mine just so happens to be my person.

Leave a Reply

