I Come From A Long Line of Strong Women

Fight or Flight…..that are your two reactions to any given situation. You can lay down and be run over or you can yank up your backbone and stand your ground.

I am watching a young woman, whom I love dearly find her backbone. I had to find mine almost four years ago. When I lost the person I loved to cancer. I had to figure out how to go from existing to living. I was all alone. I was scared. I was confused.

It took me a while to figure out how to make this transition. It wasn’t easy. It still isn’t. Things have changed since 1992. The last time I was ‘single”. There have been lots of changes. Most of them not good ones.

This young woman is made from strong stock. Her great grandmother was as rough and tumble as they come. She was a take no nonsense kind of woman. She could and would fight like a man if it was needed. At times it was needed. She didn’t care to fight for what was hers. I know this well for this woman was my grandmother.

She taught us that we shouldn’t start anything but you darn well better finish it if someone else starts.

I am watching this relative as she is finding her own way, her own feet to stand on. Hopefully seeing the struggle I have had, she can save herself some stress. It will be well. It will take time. It will be painful. It will make her stronger. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

We are both stronger, smarter, braver and more beautiful than either of us give ourselves credit for being. We come from a long line of strong women!!

Leave a Reply

