And They Argued Over Paper

Today I was sitting in a meeting in a room full of people. There was a 30 minute phone call during this meeting that lasted 2 and 1/2 hours.

Then it began. It was a simple question, what kind of paper will we use? Well who knew it would turn into peace talks at Camp David.

For two hours, they talked about paper. What color the paper would be. Would we need two different colors? One wanted this printed on it because they did it this way. One didn’t like that because their staff would have to write something and there was just no sense in that. One wanted this removed. One wanted that added. It was almost like a tennis match. I watched in silence. That’s what you do at a tennis match. Watch back and forth as they volley the ball across the net.

Now, it could have been that I was in pain or it could have been that it was a waste of my life. Either way, I found myself somewhat irritated until, I finally thought about how this group of more highly educated people than myself were actually having this discussion. At that point mentally, I started keeping score. 30- Love.

There are real problems in this world. There is someone I love who is going through one of the worst things she can imagine. She had to go and meet with someone today about something much more important than paper, but yet even in that circumstance there are papers involved.

Some paper may be important, marriage certificates, birth certificates, death certificates, divorce papers, child custody. I would even go so far as to say love letters. These papers are important.

The paper we were talking about, none of these. Not really worth arguing over.

Leave a Reply

