I Got A Text From Barbie…..

I have a friend who is younger than me. Much younger. She is the “Barbie” in my world. She is the blond haired, blue eyed, perfect size, amazing teeth person.

One day she came into where I work. We started talking, just in passing. I looked at her one day and I said how long have you had a thing for my nephew? After that we became friends.

When I was in the early days of Chapter 2, we were really close. We went shopping, she introduced me to new styles. We would take off and go to the mall on a moments notice. She was one of the people who reminded me that my life was not over. That I could still have fun.

She was the one to talked me into going for my first full body massage. She was the one who when I would want to go riding in the middle of the night, would go with me. We neither one had anywhere to be so we would ride in my car for a while and switch to her car and ride for a while.

We were both in places that was unfamiliar territory for us. She had always had boyfriends and had just managed to break free from a controlling man who was abusive to her. She could not and would not trust.  I was without, what I thought at the time,  was the only person I would ever love. I was doomed to be miserable for the rest of my life.  Once again wrong!!!

She told me something once that at the time I thought was rather shallow. She said I need to be told every day that I am beautiful. I just looked at her. I couldn’t imagine needing to be told everyday that I was beautiful. My husband thought I was, he told me often, but not every day. I didn’t need him to say it every day, I could see it in his eyes, right up to the very end.

She went on to say that if no one else tells me, I tell myself. I always want to look my best. I just wrote it off as the vanity of youth.

She might have been smarter than I gave her credit for.

When she moved away, as with most people we lost touch. She would call when something was going askew in her world but from time to time she still  texts me and tells me “You’re beautiful. I just had you on my mind. “

Yesterday was one of those days. I recalled those youthful thoughts. It worked for her, she is beautiful inside and out and she is very happy now. I am glad, she worked hard to correct some things that a great number of people could never get past.

So this morning, I got up, got one of my favorite outfits out of the closet. Dressed and looked at myself and said “You’re beautiful”. Out loud. It really did make a difference. I was very happy with the reflection I saw. As I went though out the day, I reminded myself that I was beautiful. Tonight I saw it in some photos that were taken of me. I looked happy, well rested, although somewhat perplexed in one. I was doing what I enjoy with people I enjoy being around. So to quote Audrey Hepburn “I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls”.

So if no one has told you today, you are beautiful, just in case you don’t have “Barbie” to remind you.

Leave a Reply

