Dancing Paint and Great Memories

So last night, the group of creatives that I meet with weekly, had our session. A couple of us had made projects at home and brought them in for show and tell. One young man had made a clock out of recycled computer parts, I had made some steam punk items and one lady was working on a wire flamingo. One person brought in a new piece of technology that would be more conducive to the programming style of another participant and that worked out really well. Then came the stereo,

I have admitted to you all that I am a photographer. There is something I have been wanting to do for a very long time. I want to take photos of dancing paint. I have been searching high and low at thrift store looking for some stereo speakers that if I blew them up it was no big. One of the members just so happened to have one that they were going to take to the local thrift store and asked if we wanted it. Of course there was a chorus of yes’s . I had paint and a cd with some music with some music with a booming bass line. 

At that point magic happened and happiness ensued. The first thing we tried was water.It bounced. So the paint was next. We tried it with different things to see that would get the best bounce. When that paint started dancing, I was happy, to speak modestly. I was down right giddy. It was great!!! 

I now have what I need to fulfill this dream. I just have to research lighting and camera speeds. I am so very excited. This is something I have longed to do. I can’t wait to see what I get to capture. I will need help from others in the group to make this happen. It will be a group effort. My person was there and he captured the moments of sheer happiness in my face. There is one photo where, I will say this probably only say this once… “I look beautiful”. There is a sheer joy in my face, that he was able to capture. I am not fond of having my photo made, but with him it is different. He seems to have this gift of capturing me in moments of joy, happiness and peace that I don’t normally see in photos of me. 

This is a moment that I will hopefully never forget. I was giddy as a school girl and when I saw the images he captured, my eyes are sparkling like diamonds and I’m good with that. What made it more special was that I was able to share that moment with him and the way things fell into place, it was verification that I am doing what I am supposed to be doing. That, in my book, is very cool!!!

Sometimes, we just need that nod telling us that we may not know exactly what the plan is but you seem to be on the right path for this portion of the journey.

 

Leave a Reply

