Wishing on a star

Today was a typical day. I had been on vacation for a few days and today was the day I went back to the real world. The best part of the day was that I got to see my person early this morning. This always makes for a wonderful day. We were at the same event, serving in different roles. We got to speak briefly before we needed to part ways. We talked a little bit about my adventure yesterday. 

I had to leave the event early to go to another event that I had agreed to do. In a small town, when there are lots of things going on, you have multiple roles in a day. My duties today were cheerleader at a children’s event, photographer at an event for our local hospital and dishwasher at a local restaurant.

I did take time to take some photos of sunflowers and critters at a friends farm and see the relatives that came from out of town.

Driving home from the last thing I was to do for the day, one star caught my eye. I thought back to my childhood days. Picture a little girl with dark hair,  in pig tails sitting on the front steps making a fervent  wish on a star and knowing that there was a special power that single star possessed to make that wish come true.

As adults, we get so busy, we loose that innocence, that magic. We become jaded to the power of a wish.  We wish and hope and dream, then we tell ourselves all the reasons why it can’t come true. What is a wish more than the simplest of prayers. I wish… this is what my heart longs for….this is my desire.  You wish upon a star or pray to the creator of the stars.

So quietly, I made my wish…uttering those words from by gone days…
“Star Light, Star Bright
First Star I see tonight,
Wish I may, wish I might,
Have this wish, I wish tonight.” 

I know what I wished for, I know my hearts desire. Have you wished on a star lately?? Have you taken that moment in your heart to be that kid again and have that childlike faith?? Try it sometime. It actually feels pretty good. Will the wish come true??? I don’t know. I have faith it will …in time.

Leave a Reply

