Time or The Lack Thereof….

We as a society are always in a hurry. We are always rushing around, we need to be here, we need to do that. We sometimes get in such a hurry that we do unsafe things. This is what happened to me today.

I was going to one of our local retailers and had made a stop at the coffee shop and spoken to a couple of people. I get back into my car and go to the next stop light. As I approach, my light is green. I start through the intersection when a car come barreling through running the red light. Had I have been a second or two earlier, I would have been another statistic.

It made me think…. what if that had been my last moment on Earth? Was there anything I would have done differently? Was there anything left unsaid? Was there anything left to be heard? Was there more I could have done?  Would there be any regrets??

I am not a fatalist. I am, however, a realist. There will be that final moment for each and every one of us. There will be that moment when the next breathe doesn’t come. I have seen it up close and personal. Sometimes, people do not leave with an bang, sometimes they leave with no noise at all. This is what I have seen too many times. My grandparents all left silently as did my husband.

They were all sick, they were all ready to go. They had done all they needed to do and when it was their time to go, they went peacefully.

Silence was my enemy for a very long time. In my mind silence equated to death. My husband never made a sound. There was no sign that it was nearing his time. There was no struggle. He was sick, he had battled that hateful disease, like a champ, until he was exhausted and when it was his time to transition, he just never took another breathe.

After 3 years to adjust, I have now learned to embrace silence. Although, full disclosure, not for long periods of time. It is peaceful and calm. I can listen to my soul and where it is leading me. Your head can be full of noise from the outside world. When you soul is speaking, you need to be able listen. This is the core of your being and you need to embrace where it is being led. I firmly believe that we are souls with bodies. Our body is a house for our soul to live in while we are here.

I try to make sure that the people in my life know how much I love them, for some day with a bang,a whisper, or in silence, my time too will draw to a close and I want to have absolutely no regrets.

One thought on “Time or The Lack Thereof….

Leave a Reply

