Branching Out

IMG_0180 compressed

Comfort zones are called that for a reason. Because we feel COMFORTABLE there. Do you know how far apart my comfort zone and I are??? We are not even in the same time zone anymore. Since 2011, I have learned many new things. I have learned much about myself. I have learned more than I want to about how people will treat you if you allow it. I have learned to love again. I have learned! 

Learning means we realize that we do not know everything. That we are lacking in  areas and there is room for improvement. We are all the best at something but we are all the worst at something also. I haven’t found that thing I am best at yet, that doesn’t stop me from trying. I have found lots of things where I find myself lacking. This was no more evident than last evening. 

I was working with the group of creatives last night and I felt like the dumbest person in the room. Everyone was doing that thing that they do best and it seemed like I struggled. I admit I have a strange way of learning things. I will try. I will fail. I will ask for help. I will need to be stepped through it until it clicks. I felt as dumb as a box of rocks until I was reminded that I was learning something new. I know I had the deer in the headlights look. I was chewing on my lower lip in that way  I do when I am unsure of myself.

The people working with me, were patient. I, after all am the beginner. Working with kids, I am used to being the one who helps them learn things that seem basic to us. Trying to encourage them when I see them getting upset with themselves. When they want to do it perfectly to make themselves and me proud. I kind of understand now how much patience is required to work with those who have less knowledge than yourself. 

I am trying to learn new things. I am trying to be comfortable with the fact that I will be the person in the room lacking. I am getting more comfortable branching out and stepping outside my comfort zone. When I see someone struggle, I want to do it for them, to make it better. I want to fix it.  I have now come to realize that I am cheating them out of the wahoo moment when they figure it out for themselves, with guidance from those who know more about it. 

If you are afraid to branch out, please don’t be. You have people who want you to succeed. I have the best group of cheerleaders in the world in my corner. They want to see me be all that I can possibly be. I have done things in the past three years that took a tremendous amount of bravery from a woman who didn’t think she had a brave or creative bone in her body. 

Don’t be afraid to wander outside your comfort zone, even if you have to tiptoe, sneak, or boldly break through that imaginary barrier you have built and march out. To quote Shannon Alder “Life begins with one step outside your comfort zone”. If this is true, man I must be living!!!

Leave a Reply

